Listing
Hostwinds logo

Hostwinds

US host with cPanel shared plans, VPS, cloud and dedicated servers..

Hostwinds sells shared cPanel hosting in three tiers, plus reseller, Linux and Windows VPS, cloud servers and dedicated machines. Visitors can pick a data center in Seattle, Dallas or Amsterdam. Support runs through chat, tickets and phone. The company now belongs to HostPapa.

Move in if you runsmall business sites, developers, agencies with client sites
Think twice if this bothers youTrustpilot score is 2.1 from 730 reviews, with billing and cancellation complaints
Rent over three years$252

One floor per score. Lit windows out of five.

Hostwinds logoHostwindsfrom $6.99/mo See Hostwinds' prices

What comes with the flat

  • Three data center regions to choose from: Seattle, Dallas, Amsterdam (per TechRadar)
  • Shared plans include free SSL, cPanel with Softaculous and nightly backups
  • Free migration done by staff, and a phone line plus chat and tickets
  • Full upgrade path to managed or unmanaged VPS, cloud and dedicated servers
  • Many Trustpilot reviewers praise helpful support for beginners

The small print

  • Trustpilot score is 2.1 from 730 reviews, with billing and cancellation complaints
  • Refunds must be requested within 72 hours of each payment, after cancelling, and are prorated
  • No free domain with shared plans (TechRadar)
  • Renewal price is not shown on the plan page, and reviewers report large jumps

Floor plans

Basic

$6.99 /mo
renewal not published
1 website, unlimited SSD space and bandwidth as advertised, cPanel
Page says starting at, term and renewal not stated. TechRadar earlier listed $5.24 per month on a 3-year term, renewing at $6.99.

Advanced

$8.99 /mo
renewal not published
4 websites, unlimited SSD space and bandwidth as advertised, cPanel
Same starting at wording, term and renewal not stated.

Ultimate

$10.99 /mo
renewal not published
Unlimited websites, unlimited SSD space and bandwidth as advertised, cPanel
Same starting at wording, term and renewal not stated.

Read on 2026-10-26 on Hostwinds' own pricing page, USD excl. tax. Work out the rent year by year

What the neighbours say

2.1
out of 5 on Trustpilot
730 reviews, read 2026-10-14

Our verdict

Hostwinds suits people who want cPanel shared hosting now and may move to a VPS or cloud server later at the same company. It is a weak pick for anyone who wants a clear refund route or a free domain. The main drawback is billing: Trustpilot reviewers repeatedly report automatic renewals, refused refunds and fast deletion after cancelling, so set reminders before each renewal.

The details

Kinds of hosting
shared, vps, cloud, reseller, dedicated
Control panel
cPanel with Softaculous
Backups
Nightly backups included on shared plans, cloud backups optional at extra cost
Support
24/7 live chat, tickets and phone
Moving in
Free, done by Hostwinds staff
Free domain
no
Free SSL
Yes
Data centers
Seattle, USA, Dallas, USA, Amsterdam, Netherlands
The shared hosting page shows starting-at prices without a billing term or renewal price, so renewal and minimum term stay null; reviews from 2025 (TechRadar, PCMag via Yahoo) give 6.99 as the Basic renewal, which now matches the starting-at price, but Hostwinds does not confirm it. The refund window is from Hostwinds' own terms: requests within 72 hours of the payment (purchase or renewal), stored as 3 days. Trustpilot's star distribution looks more positive than the 2.1 headline score; Trustpilot notes the company has few recent review invitations. Data center list comes from TechRadar via search, not from the Hostwinds page. No promotion was shown on 2026-10-14. The order page shows billing terms and renewal prices only after you create an account, so they are not recorded. The site footer reads "Hostwinds, a HostPapa Inc. company" (seen 2026-10-14). Terms are left out: the page data (__NEXT_DATA__) lists only an annual cycle per plan, at the standard 6.99 / 8.99 / 10.99 per month plus a first-cycle discount multiplier of 0.65 (4.54 / 5.84 / 7.14 per month) that the page does not display, and the cart asks for an account before it shows cycles, so the real first-term price per term could not be confirmed (checked 2026-10-14). Re-checked 2026-10-19: the shared page and its page data still show 6.99 / 8.99 / 10.99 starting at, an annual cycle with the same undisplayed 0.65 first-cycle multiplier, the 72-hour refund rule is unchanged, and no promotion is shown on the shared or home page. The page's meta description says plans from 3.29 dollars a month, but no plan or term on the page shows that price, so it is not used. Renewal stays null because the cart asks for an account. Re-checked 2026-10-26: the shared page still shows 6.99 / 8.99 / 10.99 starting at, the page data still lists one annual cycle with the same undisplayed 0.65 first-cycle multiplier (4.54 / 5.84 / 7.14), the meta description still says from 3.29 dollars without a matching plan, the 72-hour refund rule is unchanged, and no promotion is shown on the shared or home page. Renewal stays null because the cart asks for an account.

Sources

Scores are our reading of the sources above, on a 1 to 5 scale. We did not run our own server tests for this listing.